Math 510 Fall 2016

Announcements

Index


The ISU Faculty Senate unanimously approved the following resolution on November 8, 2016:
That the Faculty of the Iowa State University Senate stand united for the ideals of diversity and inclusion at our university. We welcome all students to learn to the best of their abilities on our campus in an environment free from racism, sexism, bigotry, harassment, and oppression. We uphold these ideals ourselves, and strongly encourage our colleagues across the university both to uphold these ideals, and to teach them when appropriate to our students as a way to move human society forward.


Homework

510 Graded Homework will be linked at least one week before due, is due before class on the due date, and will be accepted until 8:50A on last day (lecture starts 9A and no work will be accepted during lecture or in class on last day).  See Syllabus/policies for more detail.
For help on graded homework or questions on the lectures, see Leslie.
For help on discussion homework or general background, ask in a Discussion/review session or see Xingyu.

Homework for discussion (not collected).  "read" means read and remember the statement so you can use this fact in the future.

Date
Section
Problems
Mon Aug 22
1.1, 1.2
1.1: 1, 18, 19, 21 (read 14). 
1.2:  6, 7, 13, 20 (read 3, 4, 16)
Wed Aug 24
2.1
3, 4, 10, 12, 15, 16
Fri Aug 26
2.2, 2.5, 1.3
2.2: 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 11
2.5: 1
1.3: 1, 2
Mon Aug 29
2.3
   3, 4, 5, 6
Wed Aug 31
1.3, more eigen
5, 7, 8, 9, 16
Fri Sept 2
2.4, more eigen
2.4: 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9
Mon Set 5
no class Labor Day

Wed Sept 7
discussion/review

Fri Sept 9
1.4
1.4: 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8 (read 4, 5)
Mon Sept 12
more inner products
1.4: 9, 10, 12, 15
Wed Sept 14
3.2, 3.1
3.2: 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 12
3.1: 5
Fri Sept 16
3.2, 3.1 3.2: 8, 9
3.1: 4, 8, 18
Mon Sept 19
3.1
 2, 3, 7, 9, 10
Wed Sept 21
3.3
1, 2, 3, 4, 8, 9, 13, 14
Fri Sept 23
3.3, 3.2
3.3: 15, 16, 17
3.2: 15, 18
Mon Sept 26
3.2, Can Forms Notes 1
Can Forms 1: 1
Wed Sept 28
Can Forms Notes 1, 2
Can Forms 1: 2, 3, 4, 5
Fri Sept 30
Can Forms Notes 2, 3
Can Forms 2 (10/1): 1, 6 (Obs 2.1, Props 2.6 )
Mon Oct 3
Can Forms Notes 3
Can Forms 3: 1
Wed Oct 5
Can Forms Notes 3, 4
Can Forms 4: 2, 4, 5
Fri Oct 7
Can Forms 5, 6
Can Forms 6: 1
Mon Oct 10
5.1
By Wed 10/12:Finish the proofs of Idempotent Theorem and Theorem 5.4 described in Section 5.1 notes in Blackboard
For future discussion 5.1: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Wed Oct 12
6.1
5.1: 8, 10, 14, 16, 17, 18 (projection:=idempotent)
6.1: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 10, 11
Fri Oct 14
9.1
1, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10
Mon Oct 17
discussion/review

Wed Oct 19
Test

Fri Oct 21
9.1
3, 4,  11, 12, 14, 15
Mon Oct 24
9.1
16, 18
Wed Oct 26
8.1, 8.3
8.1: 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8,  13, 16, 18
Fri Oct 28
8.3, 8.1
8.3: 3, 4, 5
Mon Oct 31
8.3, 8.2
8:3: 2, 6, 7 (1st ineq)
8.2: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Wed Nov 2
8.4
1, 2, 3
Fri Nov 4
8.4, 7.1
8:4: 4, 5
Mon Nov 7
7.1, inner products
7.1: 2, 3, 5, 6, 7
Wed Nov 9
linear functionals
(see Blackboard)
Fri Nov 11
linear functionals
(see Blackboard)
Mon Nov 14
adjoints
(see Blackboard)
Wed Nov 16
5.6 (permutation)
4.3 (Kronecker)
5.6: 3, 4
Prove 1, 2, 3, 7, 12, 16 trace in HLA2 Ch 11.4 (see Blackboard)
Fri Nov 18
5.3
1 - 9
Mon Nov 28
5.2, 5.4
5.2: 1, 2
5.4: 3, 4, 5
Wed Nov 30
primary decomposition thm
PDT hwk
Fri Dec 2
discussion

Mon Dec 5
research presentation + 10.1
review old quals
Wed Dec 7
10.1
review old quals
Fri Dec 9
old quals+PDT hwk


Instructor Information

Leslie Hogben TA: Xingyu Tong

Course Information

Meetings at other times/places

Examinations

Linear Algebra Sites

Leslie Hogben's Home Page Mathematics Department Home Page