Leslie Hogben

Dio Lewis Holl Chair in Applied Mathematics 
Professor of Mathematics
Department of Mathematics
488 Carver Hall
Courtesy Professor of
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Department of
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Iowa State University
Ames, IA 50011
ISU email (hogben at iastate.edu)
is for ISU business only
If you are not at ISU,
please use


Associate Director for Diversity
American Institute of Mathematics
Leslie Hogben's AIM homepage


Linear Algebra, Combinatorics, and Applications  

Handbook of Linear Algebra

  • Leslie Hogben, Iowa State University, Editor
  • Richard Brualdi, University of Wisconsin (Madison), Associate Editor
  • G. W. Stewart, University of Maryland, Associate Editor

Second Edition

CRC Press, (c) 2014.

  • Leslie Hogben, Iowa State University, Editor
  • Richard Brualdi, University of Wisconsin (Madison), Associate Editor
  • Anne Greenbaum, University of Washington, Associate Editor
  • Roy Mathias, University of Birmingham (England), Associate Editor
CRC Press, (c) 2007.

Recognized as an OUTSTANDING ACADEMIC TITLE by Choice magazine.

Recent Trends in Combinatorics (IMA Volume in Mathematics and its Applications)
  • Andrew Beveridge, Macalester College
  • Jerrold R. Griggs, University of South Carolina
  • Leslie Hogben, Iowa State University
  • Gregg Musiker, University of Minnesota
  • Prasad Tetali, Georgia Institute of Technology
Springer, (c) 2016.

Postdocs and Graduate Students

Information about the ISU math & applied math PhD and MS programs
Information about the ISU math & applied math postbaccaluareate certificate program
Information about the ISU Masters of School Mathematics (MSM) for teachers
ISU postdoc positions are advertised on MathJobs (2018 position is filled)

Postdoctoral Associates
Dr. Jesse Geneson                   2018-            starting ISU postdoc summer 2018
Dr. Michael Young                 2010-2014    Asst. Prof., Iowa State
Dr. Minerva Catral                  2009-2010    Assoc. Prof., Xavier University
Dr. Jason Grout                       2007-2009    Bloomberg (Jupyter Lab)

Ph. D.

Carolyn Reinhart                   current
Beth Bjorkman                      current
Joshua Carlson                      current
Derek Young                        current
Michael Dairyko                    2018  (joint with Michael Young)
Chassidy Bozeman                2018 
Xavier Martinez-Rivera         2017  Visting Asst. Prof. (postdoc) Auburn U Principal rank characteristic sequences      
Jephian Chin-Hung Lin         2017  (joint with Steve Butler) postdoc U Victoria,  Variants of zero forcing and their applications to the minimum rank problem
Kevin Palmowski                  2015  Data Scientist, SRC  A fractional approach to minimum rank and zero forcing
Nicole Kingsley                    2015  was at Western Illinois U  Skew propagation time
Brian Lois                             2015  (joint with Namrata Vaswani) Data Scientist, AT&T  Correctness results for on-line robust principal components analysis
Nathan Warnberg                  2014  Asst. Prof., U Wisconsin-LaCrosse  Positive semidefinite propagation time
Craig Erickson                      2014   Asst. Prof., Grand View University Sign patterns that require eventual exponential nonnegativity
Steven Osborne                    2013   (joint with Steve Butler) Workiva Cospectral bipartite graphs for the normalized Laplacian
Geoff Tims                           2013   Nationwide Insurance    Haemers' minimum rank (thesis)    Sage program    Output for additional graphs
Travis Peters                         2012   HHMI postdoc ISU      Positive semidefinite maximum nullity and zero forcing number
Darren Row                          2011  Asst. Prof., St Mary's University MN      Zero forcing number: results for computation and comparison with other graph parameters
Olga (Pryporova) Kurth       2009   was post-doc at U Connecticut   Types of convergence of matrices
Rana Mikkelson                   2008   was US government    Minimum rank of graphs that allow loops
Amy (Wangsness) Wehe     2005   Professor, Fitchburg State University    The matrix completion problem regarding various classes of P_0,1- matrices  

M. S.
Michael Ross                            2018
AnnaVictoria Ellsworth            2015 Data Analyst, Connance
Xavier Martinez-Rivera            2014 (completed PhD at ISU)
Nicole Kingsley                       2014 (completed PhD at ISU)
Arianne Ross                            2011 was at sCoastal Carolina University
Laura (DeLoss) Hogrefe          2009  John Deere Financial
Olga Ruff                                 2007 was in PhD program in Germany
Sandra Nordstrom                    2002
Daniel Carberry                       1995
Rachel Lamp                           1990  Northern Iowa Community College
Joyati (Chakraborty) Debnath 1985  (ISU PhD) Winona State University

M. S. M.
Elizabeth Todd         current    (joint with E. Stines)
Adam Retzlaff            2017 
   (joint with E. Stines)
Daniel Sarasio Meyer 2008
Joyce Eveland            2006   (joint with Heather Thompson)
Jennifer Parker           2006

Becky Atherton         2005
Lesley Lamphier        2004
Michelle Funcke        2002


Joint EDGE MOCA Seminar Series (JEMSS)

Iowa State University Student Chapter of the Association for Women in Mathematics


Math 610 EGR

Math 507/407

Math 510

3rd Undergraduate Mathematics Courses Forum, Chengdu, China, November 2-4, 2007


Ph. D.  Yale University         1978
B. A     Swarthmore College 1974

Dean Schmittmann presents the award
ISU Mathematics Department wins
2015 American Mathematical Society Award for an Exemplary Program or Achievement in a Mathematics Department


AMS Notices article

Dean Schmittmann presents the award in photo at left

BIRS Focused Research Group 2016 The Inverse Eienvalue Problem of a Graph

Fall 2014 at Institute for Mathematics and its Applications (IMA)
ISU students and Faculty at IMA
ISU students and faculty on Probabilistic & Extremal Combinatorics Workshop outside Lind Hall (above) and
all participants in Geometric and Enumerative Combinatorics Workshop in Keller Hall (below)

The ISU Faculty Senate unanimously approved the following resolution on November 8, 2016:
That the Faculty of the Iowa State University Senate stand united for the ideals of diversity and inclusion at our university. We welcome all students to learn to the best of their abilities on our campus in an environment free from racism, sexism, bigotry, harassment, and oppression. We uphold these ideals ourselves, and strongly encourage our colleagues across the university both to uphold these ideals, and to teach them when appropriate to our students as a way to move human society forward.
Other Iowa State University seen flying from MSP to DSM 4/7/18. Carver Hall (home of the Math Dept), Lake Laverne, Memorial Union, Hilton Colliseum, CY Stevens Auditoriam, Jack TriceStadium can all be seen (as can many others). 
ISU from the air

snorkel with stingrays in Bora Bora
Pitons from Delta 339


         Leslie@AIM           San Diego Marriott lobby art